Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Update

No witty title for this one. I'm just not feeling creative today. This post is just an update of all that has gone on in the last 10-12 weeks.

Addison is growing like a weed. She started out in the 2% in weight. At her last doctors visit 3 weeks ago she was 12 lbs 14oz and no in the 36%. She is rolling over from her front to back. She hasn't quite figured out back to front yet. She has down it a couple of times but hasn't mastered it yet. We started solid foods last week and she seems to be doing ok. So far not enjoying it but not disliking it either. She is such a happy baby and 90% of the time is in a good mood the other 10% is usually due to lack of sleep! She is sleeping through the night most nights and has been for about 8 weeks now.

Football season ended the past Friday. It was much easier than I anticipated it to be. Addison was great. She loved sitting and watching the games for the first half and then would usually sleep through the second half. She is her father's child though. Once halftime hit she chould care less about the band and the dance team. Jason loved having her at the games and getting to see her after they were over. We move into basketball season which is much easier for our family. Jason was home by 5:00 yesterday afternoon and it was so nice!

Next up we have Thanksgiving and Christmas. I can't wait to celebrate Addison's first holidays with our families.
Addison at her first cold weather Cy-Ranch game. (Thanks Sweet Peace Creations for the hat!)

\
Addison in her Halloween costume. She was an octopus. I made the costume. Turned out pretty cute if I do say so myself.

Cheering on Sam Houston State University on the day of the Battle of the Piney Woods. Sam beat SFSA that day!

Cheering on the Texans. The smile proves she is too young to know how awful the team really is!

Monday, August 19, 2013

And so it begins....

...the start of our new normal.

I haven't blogged since I annoucned my pregnancy. I wanted to take a break and fully enjoy the whole process. My pregnancy went really well up until the end of it when I was sitting at home bored out of my mind and ready for her to be here! I ended up being induced because of blood pressure reasons and after about 7 hours of labor my doctor asked me to consider a c-section because Addison had not moved down at all in the 7 hours I was in labor. I choose the c-section because I was already exhausted and my doctor was only going to let me go a little bit longer before I would have to have one. After Addison was born we found out that the chord was wrapped around her neck 3 times and that was why she wasn't coming down on her own. All in all the c-section was the safest thing for her. Our beautiful baby girl was born at 6:42 pm on June 27th. She was 5lbs 10 oz and 21 inches long. 
The day after she was born. Still my favorite picture of her.

We start our new normal on Wednesday. I go back to work and Jason has already been back at football for quite sometime now. We have an amazing person watching her during the days so I have no worries about that other then that I don't get to be with her all the time. Football season should be fun. She gets to go to all the games. I can't wait to see how much she notices as the weeks go on. 
Addison ready to cheer on the Mustangs and her Daddy!

Life has been amazing ever since she got here. I love watching how she changes every day. We tried so hard and went through so much to get to this point. She is our little miracle baby and everything was worth it to get to hold her in my arms. 



Thursday, January 17, 2013

Baby Update

Now that the secret is out I can blog again!

The pregnancy was a complete shock for Jason and I. So much so that I was having a conversation with a friend about how cruel of a joke God would be playing on me if I was pregnant and that was two days before I found out.

Turns out after a molar pregnancy your body resets itself and for a small amount of time it acts as if there is no fertility problems. Some how in that short window of time during football season no less Jason and I were able to create a baby.

At first we were not sure if I was pregnant or if I had cancer. I called my doctor and she got me in within a few days. We found out that I wasn't sick but I was only 5 weeks so there was no baby to see yet. I went back at 6 & 1/2 weeks and got to hear the heart beat. I had another ultrasound at 8 week sand was taken off of high risk at that point.

Since then everything has gone great. Other the nausea and heartburn I haven't had any major side effects. After all we have been through I will take it all. Only craving so far has been ketchup...weird I know. My belly is starting to grow. Jason can see it now. Still can't see anything unless I have no pants on but I don't think it will be that way for much longer.

We find out Feb 4th the gender. I will blog again then.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Weight Loss Update Week 1

Current Weight: 220.8

Weight lost this week: Not really sure...I know at least two pounds.

Total Weight Loss: I am not really sure on this one either. Last week I posted that I thought I weighed about 235...well I was obviously wrong! There is no way I lost 15 lbs! I am going to take a guess and say I weighed about 225. So I am going to go with a total weight loss of 4.2 lbs.

What I like: So far I like weight watchers. It takes a little bit a getting used to and I am still adjusting.

  •  I really like that it tracks points and not calories. I am still trying to convince myself that I can eat things that are worth more then 2 pts. 
  • Currently I am allowed 36 pts a day and 49 pts for the week. I love that I am allowed those extra points to use when I want. This week I used them this weekend because I wasn't at home very much. 
  • I am eating healthier. WW is all about eating healthier so much so that most fruits and vegetables are zero points. 
What I don't like:
  • The fact that I used like an extra 30 pts this weekend. I need to learn to space my extra points out.
  • How long it took us to grocery shop last night. I know this will get better though. As Jason and I figure out what is good and what is bad it will be easier. (Jason is half way following weight watchers. He is eating whatever I make for dinner and trying to be better about is eating overall. He is also letting me buy all the low-fat stuff for the house)
All in all this has been a good week. I still haven't been exercising. I do want to get back into that. I am hoping Santa brings me a treadmill for Christmas so that working out is much easier!

Monday, October 29, 2012

My Weight Loss Journey

Up to this point my blog has been mainly about are struggles with conceiving. The blog has been a huge help with sorting through my thoughts so I thought why wouldn't it be a huge help with losing weight.

I have never been a small person....ever! I was a bigger child, a big teen and now a big adult. The smallest I ever was at an adult size was 170 lbs and that was the end of my senior year of high school. Jason and I have both put on a lot of weight since we met each other. With Jason I really think his problem came when he stopped playing football because he never stopped eating like he played football. I can blame mine one being in a stable relationship, my thyroid issue, my family background or whatever I want but the fact of the matter is I am just lazy! If I wasn't so lazy I could loose the weight.

I have proven to myself multiple times that I am capable. Over the last three years there has been three different occasions that I have lost 15 lbs or more. I always seem to put all the weight back on. I am currently 5 lbs down from the heaviest I have ever been. Every time I have lost weight it has been while I was counting calories. Makes sense right? Your body burns calories for energy. I think it is something like 3500 calories equals a pound. If you count out a significant amount then you are bound to lose weight. No matter how much sense it makes I can't seem to make myself do it. It will work for a few weeks and then I get tired of all the work. I can't afford to get lazy anymore.

The reason I have trouble conceiving is because I have PCOS. A majority of the women with PCOS have it because they are overweight. You would think after three years of struggling I would have put more effort into losing weight. Once again it comes back to being lazy.

This is my next big effort to stop being lazy and start doing the work. I joined Weight Watchers. I am hoping it is a temporary (about a year) aide. I think after awhile I will get the hang of what I should and shouldn't be eating, what will help me lose weight and what won't. I am also going to get back to running. I was doing it for a few weeks after we lost the baby out of the need to clear my head now I need to do it out of the need to get healthy.

Here comes the scary part....I am going to tell all of you (and the world) my current weight. My plan is to weigh myself every week and post a blog weekly about my progress. I need all of you to keep me honest. I will try to post regularly about my weight loss and how I am doing but if you see a lack of updates make sure you ask me about it. My goal is to lose 60 lbs. I am not putting a timeline on it because hopefully in the next few months we will be pregnant and that will obviously alter my progress but if I start getting healthy before baby and during the pregnancy then it will be much easier to get back on track after a pregnancy.

Here comes the scary part....I am going to tell all of you (and the world) my current weight. I weigh about 235 lbs. I don't know the exact because I haven't weighed myself in about two weeks but I don't travel far from that number usually a pound or two in either direction.

Here's to a big change in mine and Jason's lives (he doesn't really know it but he is going to lose weight too!)

Monday, October 15, 2012

Out of the woods...

...and moving on.

I got a call from my doctor today. My blood test came back and showed that my hormone levels were at a -1. She wanted them to be below 2. She said anything below a 0 means your body is not registering any pregnancy hormones at all.

That means that there is no remaining invasive cells in my body. I am still under observation for the next two months. I go back at the beginning of November and the beginning of December for blood work and as long as both of those come back good we can go back to Clomid and start trying again.

I was joking with a friend of mine today and told her that knowing Jason and I's luck we would get pregnant right away once we start trying again and end of up with football baby!

Thanks for all the prayers! Now we need prayers for patience. I think the next few months might be hard on us. Knowing now that I am ok and we have to just sit back and wait. It's like telling a kid that he has to wait a week to open the present you bought him!

Monday, October 8, 2012

One Month down....

two more to go.

I went to the doctor today for my 2nd of 4 rounds of blood work being done over a total of 3 months. The doctor is checking my pregnancy hormones to make sure that there are no cells left from the molar pregnancy.

My last blood work from a month ago my levels were at a 10. The doctor wants them to be return to normal which is below 2. She isn't concerned that they were at 10 yet. I was only two weeks post D&C and it take time for the body to adjust. I am not out of the woods yet but we will have a much clearer picture of where I am when my blood work comes back in a few days. I feel fine and I don't feel pregnant at all so I really do think all is good.

The last month has been a crazy roller coaster for us. I still get emotional when I think about everything or when I talk to someone about it. It's funny, there are some people I can talk to about it with no problem and there are some people that I can't talk to without crying and some people (my dad) that I can't talk to about it at all. I seem to be the most emotional when I am in the car by myself. I think its because I do nothing but think in the car.

We are into the full swing of school and football. We finished our 1st six weeks of school on Friday. Jason's team is now 3-2 on the season and 3-1 in district. They are in the heart of the playoff battle and the battle for 1st place. The team is looking great and I think it will only get better.

The last month it has been nice not having to worry about taking medicine and charting my temperature and trying to figure out if Jason is going to be home on the right night of the week for us to "bond". It's takes a huge stress off knowing that we will be through most of football season (because we are going deep in the playoffs) when the 3 months is up. With Jason being a varsity coach this year he has very little time for anything so it's nice to know that the time we have together is relaxing.

I am still sad that we have been through all we have but I would much rather go through all this now then to be much further along in my pregnancy or to lose a child after it is born. I read an article the other day about a professional baseball player who's son died the day after he was born. That player after a few days had to go back to work because his team was in the playoffs. He said that he told him self when he got on the mound (he is a pitcher) that he couldn't think about his son. He said once he got out there all he could think about was his son and knowing that he was looking down on him.

I can't even imagine going through that much pain. It might be selfish but I hope that all of the pain Jason and I have been through is because God is making sure that we get a beautiful and healthy baby in the end.